Why do I write poetry?

by Debasis Mukhopadhyay

 

What is the link that propels me back into the poetry like stuff?
I think about the waves of heavy clouds borne aloft on an ocean of darkness
and,

at the same time, about

a woman’s body in situations that tend to look as prose as they really are.
I think about the train of words that imagine & then play about with a poem
and,

at the same time, about

a charcoal flower without any fire buried deep inside.
I think about the parameters of listlessness and,

at the same time, about

the silver river called “perhaps it ends always like this”.
What is it that makes me think about a rapt closing note and, at the same
time, about Tamir Rice-trompe l’oeil?

 

©Copyright 2015, Debasis Mukhopadhyay

DEBASIS MUKHOPADHYAY - [Read Full Bio] grew up in Calcutta, India and now lives in Montreal, Canada. He has a PhD in literary studies from Université Laval. He writes poetry in both Bengali and English. His debut collection of poetry in Bengali was published in 2005...


[Featured]Digital Art Image Credit: Fantasy by Belinda Subraman. ©Copyright 2015, Belinda Subraman.
 

 

Snapping Twig – Summer – 2015

Vol: May 2015 thru Jul 2015

One thought on “Why do I write poetry?

Comments are closed.