Flight of Fancy

by L.G. Corey

 

I listen for the words

being spoken by

the faceless form before me –

 

a face, but not yet quite a face;

a mouth, but not yet quite a mouth;

 

words, urgent and inarticulate,

from a faceless mouth

in a formless face

 

(a grey and formless face)

 

shouting silent, urgent words

I neither hear nor understand

be see and understand

 

in my crib that has become

the Merkabah, the Chariot of Shiva,

 

the body of Amirah.

 

©Copyright 2015, L.G. Corey

L.G. COREY - [Read Full Bio] has most recently been published in Chaffey Review, Empty Sink, Poetry Pacific, Screech Owl, Pif andd now Snapping Twig. Over the years his work also has appeared in Beloit Poetry Journal, Evergreen Review, Midstream, Choice, The Critic, and Zeek...


[Featured]Digital Art / Photography Image Credit: i open myself up to possibilities by J. Spahr-Summers. ©Copyright 2015, J. Spahr-Summers
 

 

Snapping Twig – Spring – 2015

Vol: Feb 2015 thru Apr 2015